Highlighting the best independent publications in fiction and non-fiction. Your new favorite author is right here.

Bernadette Rowley

Bernadette RowleyBernadette Rowley is an author of fantasy romance who grew up on rural properties on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia. Her teenage years were spent training her beloved horses, reading the fantasy stories of Tolkien, Brooks and Eddings and dreaming of becoming a vet. She graduated with a Bachelor of Veterinary Science First Class Honours in 1987.
Bernadette works part time as a small animal vet, allowing her four days a week for her passion, writing. She now lives in Brisbane with her husband of 29 years, their three adult sons and Slippers the cat. Her other interests are reading (fantasy and romance), singing (a capella), cricket and music.

Website Facebook Twitter Smashwords Amazon

The Lord and the Mermaid: Wildecoast Saga Book 1 (Fantasy, Paranormal Romance)

lord mermaidFans of C.L. Wilson will love this fantasy romance about two lovers from different worlds who will break the laws of land and sea in their quest to be together.

Mermaid Merielle has fled the sea, disgusted at the actions of her people and desperate to build a life for herself on land. But to truly live as a woman, she must

Lord Nikolas Cosara has lost his brother at sea, and is driven to discover whether his sibling has died at the dangerously seductive hands of a mermaid. But when Nik finds Merielle washed up on the beach, he reluctantly saves her. Despite his antipathy for her kind, Nik is increasingly drawn to Meri, who is slowly working her way into his damaged heart.

Can Nik surrender to his love for Meri before her hopes of a human life are lost forever? Or will a devastating secret bring all her efforts to naught?

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon AUS Kobo iBooks B & N PanMacmillan

The Elf King’s Lady: Wildecoast Saga Book 2 (Fantasy, Paranormal Romance)

elf kingIn the midst of a war between elves and men, two unlikely companions find love. But in this battle of ages, can they defy the very blood that courses through their veins?

The human kingdom of Thorius is once again under threat from the dark elven menace. General Kain Jazara has sworn to protect Thorius from all danger, magical or otherwise – but first he must rescue the highborn family of alluring healer Lady Alique Zorba.

Thrown together in their quest to save Alique’s family, and eventually themselves, from the merciless elven clan, the pragmatic General and the impulsive Lady Alique discover an undeniable passion. But when Kain’s world is torn apart by a personal revelation, he turns his back on both Alique and his homeland.

Can Kain find a path back to love and victory in time? Or will he allow revelations from his family’s mysterious past to destroy his relationship, his happiness, and his kingdom?

Perfect for fans of Nalini Singh and C.L. Wilson.

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon AUS Kobo iBooks B & N PanMacmillan

The Lady and The Pirate: Wildecoast Saga Book 3 (Fantasy, Paranormal Romance)

lady pirateLady Esta Aranati, burdened by an impoverished estate, has turned her hand to smuggling. She leads a double life, a mask and wig the only shields that protect her reputation. Swashbuckling pirate Samael Delacost craves her cargo and her heart. But before he can be worthy of her love, he must exorcize the ghosts of his past. An irresistible connection binds them but will that be enough to convince Samael to turn his back on the sea, or for Esta to take a chance on happiness she doesn’t think she deserves?
The Lady and the Pirate continues The Wildecoast Saga, with popular The Lord and the Mermaid characters Nikolas Cosara and his wife Merielle featured in this latest instalment from Bernadette Rowley.

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon AUS Kobo iBooks B & N Smashwords

Princess Avenger: Brightcastle Saga Book 1 (Fantasy, Paranormal Romance)

princess avengerPrincess Alecia Zialni is no ordinary noblewoman but a crusader for Brightcastle’s miserable subjects, disguising herself to exact revenge and minister to the poor. So it is irksome in the extreme when the dark and dangerous Captain Vard Anton rescues her from a mercenary she has attacked. Alecia manages to slip from his grasp only to discover he has been appointed her protector.
How is she to maintain her secret life with Vard watching her every move? More importantly, how can she safeguard her heart from this mesmerising man?
Vard knows he cannot remain Alecia’s protector and fulfill his mission to kill her father, Prince Zialni. Neither can he defend her when his control of his transformations is so tenuous.
Will the attraction that sizzles between the courageous princess and the daring captain be enough to overcome Vard’s obligation to his heritage and Alecia’s duty to the Kingdom?

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon AUS Smashwords Kobo iBooks B & N

Princess In Exile: Brightcastle Saga Book 2 (Fantasy, Paranormal Romance)

princess exilePrincess Alecia flees her arranged marriage with the help of the dangerous Vard Anton, shapeshifter and former army captain. Blinded by love, they believe they can have a life together but every encounter with the mercenaries sent to find them, pushes Vard towards his least controllable form- the gigantic brown bear.
Desperate to find a mentor who will help him control his transformations, Vard and Alecia travel to a forgotten city where a powerful sorcerer resides. But this wizard is in league with the dark elves and the lovers soon discover he has his own dangerous agenda.
Will Vard and Alecia escape the clutches of the sorcerer who would use Alecia’s position to advance the dark elven cause? Can their love survive despite Alecia’s fear of Vard’s animal transformations? What secret does the princess hold that has the power to destroy the trust Vard has in her?
The answers to all this and more are contained in the pages of Princess in Exile, the dark sequel to Princess Avenger.

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon AUS Smashwords Kobo iBooks B & N

The Lady’s Choice: Will Love Conquer Duty? (Fantasy, Paranormal Romance)

ladys choiceLady Benae Branasar will sacrifice her ‘happily ever after’ for an arranged marriage with a powerful prince. But can she turn her back on her feelings for the prince’s squire, Ramón Zorba? Ramón is obsessed with the prince’s daughter and tries hard to ignore fiery Benae. As they are drawn inexorably together, Benae and Ramón must choose between keeping personal vows and being true to each other.

Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon AUS Smashwords Kobo iBooks B & N