Highlighting the best independent publications in fiction and non-fiction. Your new favorite author is right here.

Jane Blythe

Author pictureJane Blythe is a lover of baking all things sweet and chocolatey, of sitting on beautiful white sandy beaches and swimming in the sparkly blue ocean, skiing and making snowmen, horse riding always the faster the better but not trotting as she’s not too good at that, Taekwondo where she is only a couple of months away from being awarded her black belt, and of course reading and writing anything in the crime/mystery/suspense/thriller genre! She first became interested in writing when she was a very little girl, she used to write short stories and then make her younger brothers act them out with her. When she was eleven she got her first laptop and her love of writing really took off from there. Once she started she just couldn’t stop! Now she writes every spare second she gets. Aside from her crime/mystery series, she also wanted to do a series of picture books for preschoolers as she is also a preschool teacher. So she created the Victoria Ivory Pearl series, books written with grade 5/6 classes in local schools. She chose to write her books with kids because she wanted to encourage them to develop a love of both writing and teaching others things they think are important. In addition to all of these things she also loves to spend time with her family, friends, and two very energetic Dalmatians, Ivory and Pearl.

Website Twitter Facebook

A Secret to the Grave: Detective Parker Bell Series Book 1 (crime, mystery, romance, thriller)

Front coverA suicide.

A secret.

To the grave.

That was the promise that ten girls made many years ago, and now the time has come when they will be forced to make a choice. Keep the secret and lose their lives, or reveal it and risk the lives of others.

Detective Parker Bell has just returned to work after shooting dead a killer, when he and his partner land the case of a young woman abducted by a man who has left a list of clues pointing to nine other women he plans to kill.

Throughout the course of the investigation Parker meets Tessa Micah, a potential victim and the most interesting, striking, infuriating woman he has ever met, she awakens something inside of him that he thought was long dead.

When Tessa refuses to shed any light on why she is in the sights of a serial killer its up to Parker to find the madman before he can bring his plan to fruition, leaving ten dead women in his wake.


Winter Wonderland: Detective Parker Bell Series Book 2 (crime, mystery, romance, thriller)

winter wonderlandThe spine-tinglingly gripping sequel to ‘A Secret to the Grave’

Winter is approaching and serial killer, The Iceman, is emerging from hibernation to once again rule the winter with theatrical and brutal murders.

With the city in the grips of Iceman fuelled terror, Detective Parker Bell is handed the task of finding a killer who is meticulous enough to leave behind no physical evidence and self-controlled enough to lie dormant through spring, summer and fall.

As he hunts the Iceman, Detective Parker Bell must also balance his fledgling relationship with Tessa Micah, who is still struggling to deal with the emotional backlash of her own encounter with a madman. When Tessa stumbles upon the killer’s identity things spiral out of control, irrevocably changing Parker’s world forever.


Dead or Alive: Detective Parker Bell Series Book 3 (crime, mystery, romance, thriller)

dead or aliveThe bone-chilling sequel to ‘A Secret to the Grave’ and ‘Winter Wonderland’

Twenty-one years ago a terrified little girl shot dead a man.

Lila and Eric Abbott’s world spins out of control in an instant when their young son is shot and their infant daughter abducted in a seemingly random car jacking.

While working on the case Detective Parker Bell disappears without a trace leaving, his friends and family, including new wife Tessa, frantic to find out what has happened to him.

Pregnant with their first child Tessa clings to the belief that her husband would never abandon her, despite the insistence of family and friends that Parker’s recent behavioral changes may mean he has left on purpose.

A husband who’s dead or a husband who’s alive but abandoned her seem to be Tessa’s only choices, until a mysterious stranger enters her life.


Little Girl Lost: Detective Parker Bell Series Book 4 (crime, mystery, romance, thriller)

little girl lostThe heart-stopping sequel to ‘A Secret to the Grave’, ‘Winter Wonderland’ and ‘Dead or Alive’

After crashing their car in the woods Detective Parker Bell and his wife Tessa stumble upon a blood splattered child and find themselves thrown headfirst into a nightmare eerily familiar to the one Tessa found herself in sixteen years ago.

Forced to confront a past she would rather forget, every decision Tessa makes could cost her everything she has grown to love.

Faced with several missing children cases he knows are related to Tessa’s childhood nightmare, Parker must decide how hard to push his wife to get the answers he wants, and if he is even ready to face the truth of what happened to Tessa when she was kidnapped as a child.

The revelations will irrevocably change both Parker and Tessa’s lives forever.


Forgotten: Detective Parker Bell Series Book 5 (crime, mystery, romance, thriller)

forgottenThe shocking finale to ‘A Secret to the Grave’, ‘Winter Wonderland’, ‘Dead or Alive’ and ‘Little Girl Lost’

With his relationship to wife, Tessa, strained almost to the point of breaking, Detective Parker Bell finds himself once again becoming too invested in his latest case, that of a young woman who was kidnapped and is suffering from amnesia.

As he becomes intrigued by and attracted to the beautiful and mysterious young woman he names Hope his friends and family feel that he is losing his objectivity, and risking everything he cares about in the process.

Meanwhile Tessa is working to battle her demons and figure out what secrets Hope is hiding before its too late.

Unfortunately Hope’s secrets will end up costing one of them their lives.


One: Count to Ten Series Book 1 (crime, mystery, romance, thriller)

oneAnnabelle Englewood slaughters her family while they sleep.

Or so it seems to Detective Xavier Montague when he and his partner arrive at her house to find her sleeping peacefully, her family all dead.

But then another family and another are murdered, again with one family member left alive, and it becomes clear that Annabelle is simply a pawn in a vicious killer’s game.

Intrigued by Annabelle, the first woman Xavier has been attracted to since his divorce, when he comes face to face with the killer he will be forced to make the ultimate choice, a life and death decision, that could let a psychotic murderer walk free.